5 Powerful Ways to Connect More Deeply with Your Children

Butterfly Sedum

1. Observe your child. Find yourself directly in the moment with them and experience them more clearly now. Look deeply into their eyes and experience the color fully. Now stay there a while allowing yourself to dive deeply down into their soul through the window of their eyes. Notice their expression when they look more deeply back at you discovering your depth as well. Don’t say a word.

2. Take every opportunity you can to hug and kiss your child. Lift them from their bed. Hug and kiss them. Lift them from their highchair. Hug and kiss them. Redirect them with a hug and kiss. Greet them with a hug and kiss. Give them the space they need, then hug and kiss them upon their return.

3. Hide your mobile phone. Turn off the television. Put the computer to sleep. Be fully present with your child in their favorite activity if only for a short while. Be captivated by their words. Truly. Listen fully to their thoughts. Give them the floor. Celebrate this precious time you have with them. Do it again. Often.

4. In that moment when you think you shouldn’t be patient any longer. When you’ve reached “the end of your rope.” When your child has pushed all of your buttons and then some. Extend more love. Offer a kind word beyond what you think is deserved. And then some more. See what happens.

5. Attempt to experience your child as someone other than your child. Talk with them as if they don’t belong to you. Notice any change in the level of respect you feel toward them. Marvel at their beauty.

8 thoughts on “5 Powerful Ways to Connect More Deeply with Your Children

    1. meghannathanson Post author

      Thank you for your amazing feedback. Makes my heart sing. Sending lots of love your way Gabby.

      Reply
  1. Rebecca Colvin

    Hi Meghan,
    I really appreciated #5 on your list. As my children get older (Callie is about to be an 8th grader…yikes!), I find that concept to be so true. Experiencing them as unique individuals (not just “my kids”) can be amazingly rewarding. Thanks for sharing.
    Love and blessings,
    Becca

    Reply
    1. meghannathanson Post author

      Becca! I am so happy to hear from you. It has been such a long time …. I think of you often. I am glad you were able to appreciate some aspect of that article. My blog probably speaks more to mothers of younger children but I wanted to share with you what I have been working on. Thinking of you with lots of love and hoping all is well with you. Love, Meghan

      P.S. Callie is going to be an 8th grader?!!! Wow ….

      Reply
  2. Alicia

    Lovely post. This blogger http://abundantlifechildren.com/ taught me to treat my child like a guest, which is something I remind myself of often. We were lucky to be able to conceive when we wanted to and I find myself saying aloud in hard times “I called you here. I asked you to come and you did.”
    I just found your blog and am very much enjoying it!

    Reply
  3. momsgoneglobal

    This is a truly inspiring post and should be read by every parent (and grandparent)! Thank you for the gentle reminders about how precious and fleeting our time with our young children really is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

